The 2019 Emporia Gazette All-Area Girls Basketball Team: Back Row (L to R): Emma Miller (Olpe), Khylee Massey (Northern Heights), Makenzie Higgs (Chase County), Taylor Milleson (Emporia), Bailey Darbyshire (Hartford). Front Row (L to R): Maya Eidman (Chase County), Neleh Davis (Olpe), Emily Farrow (Madison), Shyanne Allen (Council Grove), Macy Smith (Olpe).

Three members of the 1A State Tournament-qualifying Olpe Eagles and one Emporia High Spartan are among the 10 honorees for this year’s Emporia Gazette All-Area girls basketball teams.

Emma Miller, Olpe

Miller is a two-time pick to the All-Area team. A unanimous first-team selection by the Lyon County League voters, she averaged 14 points and seven rebounds per contest, helping the Eagles to their 28th state tournament appearance in program history. Miller was also named a second-team All-State selection by the Topeka Capital-Journal. She also played in the Flint Hills Optimist Club’s All-Star Game and scored 16 points.

Taylor Milleson, Emporia

Milleson returns to the All-Area team for a second consecutive year. She led the Spartans in scoring at 10 points and eight rebounds per contest and was named a second-team All-Centennial League selection and received All-State honorable mention by the Topeka Capital-Journal. Milleson played in the Flint Hills Optimist Club’s All-Star Game and scored 12 points.

Neleh Davis, Olpe

Davis is a first-team All-Area pick as a junior. She averaged 12 points, 2.5 rebounds and two steals per game and shot 78 percent from the free-throw line while earning second-team All-LCL honors and All-State honorable mention honors by the Topeka Capital-Journal.

Macy Smith, Olpe

Smith earns full-fledged honors for the first time after being named an honorable mention pick to the as a freshman. She averaged eight points, three rebounds and four steals to help her earn second-team All-LCL honors and honorable mention All-State accolades from the Topeka Capital-Journal.

Emily Farrow, Madison

Farrow earns her way onto the All-Area team for the first time by leading the Bulldogs in scoring with 15 points per game, while grabbing five rebounds and five steals per contest

She was a first-team All-LCL pick and earned All-State honorable mention honors from multiple outlets — the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association, Sports In Kansas and the Topeka Capital-Journal. Farrow also earned third-team honors on Sunflower Preps’ All-Southeast Kansas Region Team. She also played in the Flint Hills Optimist Club’s All-Star Game and scored five points.

Maya Eidman, Chase County

Eidman returns to the All-Area team for a second consecutive year. Eidman was a first-team All-FHL pick during her senior season, averaging 12 points and nine rebounds per game. Eidman was also an All-State honorable mention pick by the Topeka Capital-Journal. She played in the Flint Hills Optimist Club’s All-Star Game and scored eight points.

Makenzie Higgs, Chase County

Higgs earns her first All-Area honor as a junior for CCHS. She averaged 11 points and five rebounds for the Bulldogs, who made it to 1A sub-state semifinals. Higgs was the highest vote-getter among the second-team All-FHL selections. She was also named an All-State honorable mention selection by the Topeka Capital-Journal.

Shyanne Allen, Council Grove

Allen makes her first All-Area appearance as a junior for CGHS. She averaged 8.5 points, 2.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists and two steals per contest that helped her earn first-team honors from the FHL.

Khylee Massey, Northern Heights

Massey earned her third All-Area honor after helping the Wildcats to a Flint Hills League regular season title and a runner-up finish in the FHL Shootout. Massey averaged 16 points, 7.2 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 2.2 steals and two blocks per contest while shooting 51.6 percent from the field. She was named unanimous first-team selection All-FHL, a second-team All-State by Sports in Kansas and honorable mention All-State by the Topeka Capital-Journal and the Wichita Eagle.

Bailey Darbyshire, Hartford

Darbyshire makes her second appearance on the All-Area team after earning honorable mention status as a sophomore. She averaged 14.1 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 3 assists per contest to help her earn second-team All-LCL honors. She was an All-State honorable mention selection by the Topeka Capital-Journal.

Second Team: Abbi Good, Council Grove; Karly McDougald, Olpe; Caleigh Smart, Northern Heights; Kiernan Breshears, Hartford.

Honorable Mention: Abby Peek, Lebo; Taylor Williams, Madison; Lilah Serrer, Madison; Brooke Finnerty, Hartford; Mya Tovar, Emporia; Rayanna Breshears, Emporia; Gracie Gilpin, Emporia; Destiny Dody, Northern Heights.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.