ESU Corky

Emporia State men’s basketball coach Craig Doty announced the addition of Zac Owens as ESU wraps up the recruiting process for the 2019-20 season.

“Our recruiting class has allowed us to achieve some class balance within our program which will help us compete next season and build for future seasons,” Doty said. “With returners and recruits, our 2019-20 roster will feature eight freshmen and sophomores, seven juniors and two seniors”

Zac Owens is a 5-11 guard who is transferring to Emporia State after two years at NAIA Huntington University. He averaged 15.7 points and 3.1 assists per game with 30 steals for the Foresters. He shot .490 from the field, .427 from the three-point line and .831 from the free throw line in 31 starts on his way to honorable mention All-Crossroads League recognition as a sophomore. As a high school senior he averaged 11.2 points, 3.8 assists and 1.6 steals per game to lead Crispus Attucks HS in Anderson, Ind. to the 2017 Indiana Class 3A State Championship.

“Zac was a state champion in high school in the state of Indiana,” Doty said. “He has a proven ability to score efficiently at the four-year college level. He is a great kid who will fit in really well within our program. We are thrilled to complete our 2019 recruiting class with such a gifted student-athlete who our community will get to embrace for the next two years.”

Owens joins transfers Dallas Bailey, Justin Balcome, Devin Rottweiler, Brenden VanDyke, and Justin Williams along with freshmen recruits Mayuom Boum, Gage McGuire, Tyreek Robinson, Mason Thiessen and Keyon Thomas in the Hornets signing class for 2019. They will join returners Aaron McGee, Marquis MaCray, Duncan Fort, Jumah’Ri Turner, Devante McGee and Saadique Perkins for the Hornets in 2019-20.

Emporia State ended the season 14-16, 8-11 in the MIAA an improvement of five wins overall from last season and double the conference win total. The 14 wins under Doty are tied for the second most by a first year Hornet coach. Their season ended with an 82-79 loss to No. 1 Northwest Missouri in the MIAA Tournament, the closest game for the national champion Bearcats during the postseason.

Hornet Signees

Name Ht. Hometown/ Previous School

Mayuom Boum 6-9 Lincoln, Neb./Southwest HS

Gage McGuire 6-6 Coldwater, Mich./Coldwater HS

Tyreek Robinson 6-6 Kissimmee, Fla./Gateway HS

Mason Thiessen 6-8 Inman, Kan./Inman HS

Keyon Thomas 5-10 Bonner Springs, Kan./Bonner Springs HS


Dallas Bailey 6-6 Denver, Colo./Iowa Central CC

Justin Balcome 6-10 Alexandria, Minn./Northern State

Zac Owens 5-11 Anderson, Ind./Huntington Univ.

Devin Rottweiler 6-8 Sierra Vista, Ariz./Central Wyoming CC

Brenden Van Dyke 6-8 Avondale, Ariz./Cowley CC

Justin Williams 5-10 Indianapolis, Ind./Lincoln Trail (Ill.) CC

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.